top of page

Chris Long Named Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year

When it comes to accolades, many fans only think about awards like the Rookie of the Year, the Coach of the Year, and the Most Valuable Player. However, there is one award in the NFL that is just as desired as the previously mentioned awards, and that is the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award.

The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Awardrecognizes an NFL player for his excellence on and off the field. The NFL announced that his year's award winner is Philadelphia Eagles DE Chris Long.

The winner of the award each year "receives $250,000 donated to United Way in his name to expand Character Playbookacross the country and up to $250,000 donated to the winner's charity of choice."

Long has been working with a few different charities recently. He continues his work with his Waterboyscharity that he founded. He has also donated most of his salary from the past two seasons to help with educational equality, and has also helped distribute books to children without the resources to read.

Long is the 3rd Eagle to win the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award, joining Troy Vincent (2002) and Harold Carmichael (1980).

9 views0 comments


Stay up to date!  

Thanks for submitting!